Tamil Nadu Politically At A Glance
Parliamentary Constituencies 39
Assembly Constituencies 234
Ruling Party AIADMK
Opposition Party Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)
Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami
Governor Banwarilal Purohit
Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Lakhoni, I.A.S.
CEO Address Tamil Nadu Secretariat, St. George Fort, Chennai- 600009
Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Tamil Nadu were held in the following years:
1st Assembly 1952 2nd Assembly 1957 3rd Assembly 1962 4th Assembly 1967
5th Assembly 1971 6th Assembly 1977 7th Assembly 1980 8th Assembly 1984
9th Assembly 1989 10th Assembly 1991 11th Assembly 1996 12th Assembly 2001
13th Assembly 2006 14th Assembly 2011 14th Assembly 2016